What IS a Church Relations Officer?

Rev. Jordan B. Davis
Rev. Jordan B. Davis

My name is Jordan Davis and I graduated from Union Presbyterian Seminary with a Masters of Divinity in 2014 and I returned to Union as the Church Relations Officer in August 2015. I am an ordained Teaching Elder in the Presbyterian Church (USA), living in Durham, NC (but a frequent visitor to UPSem’s Richmond Campus.

My job is to simply connect Union Presbyterian Seminary with congregations and presbyteries. So many times, connections are only made in one of two circumstances- 1) a church/ presbytery sends a member to study here or sponsors one of our students, or, 2) the seminary asks the church/ presbytery for financial support. I get the fantastic opportunity to connect the seminary and churches/ presbyteries APART from these two things. I don’t come asking for money, I don’t come asking for more students… I come asking how we, Union Presbyterian Seminary, can walk with your congregation and to show you how you can walk with us.

Why this Blog?

The purpose of this blog is to highlight congregations and their ministries, focusing on an aspect of ministry that really stands out during my visit with each congregation.  You will be traveling along with me by reading this blog—getting to know some amazing churches and innovative ministries.  Great place to get some ideas!

How do my visits happen?

As I continue to reach out to more congregations to build and strengthen the relationship between the churches and the seminary, I make myself available for almost any kind of leadership in your congregation (aside from dance lessons) as a gift from the seminary. More often than not, I guest preach and/ or give a “Minute for Mission” highlighting exciting things going on at Union, and how the congregation can benefit from some of our educational resources. I also love having discussions and giving presentations during the Sunday School hour or fellowship time. If you have an idea of what you would like to see, just let me know!

When I meet with presbyteries it can be something as simple as setting up a table and being available to answer questions and talk to your congregational leaders, or I can stand up and give a very brief update to the entire Presbytery during the actual meeting.

Where?

At this time, I am visiting congregations and presbyteries in Virginia, North Carolina, and South Carolina.

When?

I am available both on Sunday mornings for worship, as well as during the week. My calendar is filling up, so I hope you will contact me as soon as possible.   Currently, I am working on FALL 2015 and beyond.

How?

If you are interested in having me visit your congregation to build and strengthen the relationship between your church and Union Presbyterian Seminary, please contact me at jdavis@upsem.edu.

Leave a Reply

