Welcome, Nicole!

Nicole C. Ball Church Relations Officer
Nicole C. Ball
Church Relations Officer

We are very excited to announce that the Union Presbyterian Seminary “Church Relations Program” has welcomed Nicole Childress Ball to our team.

Nicole C. Ball received her Master of Divinity from Union Presbyterian Seminary in 2011. Prior to taking the position as Church Relations Officer at UPSem, Nicole spent 3 years in hospital ministry as Staff Chaplain and ACPE Supervisory Education Student at Mary Washington Hospital in Fredericksburg, Virginia. She is passionate about people, serving the Church, and representing Union in the community!

In 2008, Nicole received a Bachelor of Arts degree in Religious Studies from Randolph-Macon College in Ashland, Virginia where she played for the Women’s Basketball team (Go Jackets!). Nicole and her husband (and college sweetheart!), Dr. Tyler Ball, DDS, reside in the city of Richmond with their hound dog, Bea.

Nicole will work with congregations in the Virginia and Washington D.C. areas. Jordan Davis, our Church Relations Officer who has been building relationships between the seminary and our congregations, will move her focus to North Carolina and South Carolina congregations.

As Nicole finishes her first week on the job, she writes-

Greetings from the campus of UPSem, Richmond!

I’m thrilled to be welcomed ‘home’ to Union Presbyterian Seminary to serve as the VA/DC/WV Church Relations Officer. Union Presbyterian Seminary nurtured me in so many ways when I started my graduate studies in 2008. I entered Union-PSCE with a focus on academics and enrolled in the Master of Arts in Theological Studies program. As a cradle Southern Baptist, I was sure of God’s call to service in ministry in the name of Jesus Christ; however, I was unsure of where I fit in the Kingdom of God.

The community welcomed me with open arms, embraced me as I navigated my first steps in Reformed theology, and challenged me to my core. I learned valuable lessons about grace and about the necessity for critical theological reflection. As a result, I began to speak with a new voice in the world around me.

My unique journey is only a piece of the greater story being told each day at Union Presbyterian Seminary. I look forward to sharing my story and the stories of others with you!   I am available to come to your church to share with you some of the exciting programs happening at UPSem.  Preaching, providing a minute for mission, teaching, leading a youth group or other study—I’m open to however you can use me to share about the seminary.  Please contact me and we can work together to find a venue that works for your congregation.

Yours in Christ,

Nicole C. Ball

To schedule a time for Nicole to visit your congregation, please contact her at nball@upsem.edu or (804)278-4285.

Leave a Reply

