A Prayer for Holy Week

37818_523934684350_7008911_n
 Jardin de Gracias, Siguatepeque, Honduras

John 11:35

What a life you have given us, God,

and who in the world can be expected to navigate it all?!

How many times can I cry as I absorb

the daily news of misunderstanding and distrust?

the reality of violence among family, of disparagement among those who are supposed to love?

the pressure of success placed upon the youngest among us?

the strain on us to be self-sufficient, to not need and not ask?

Tell me, God, should I weep in despair or laugh at the overwhelming absurdity of it all?

Jesus cried, at least once.

I think I would cry more often than Jesus but laughter is a cheerier mechanism to cope with what I see

what I hear

what I feel

what I fear.

I don’t know what you think of all the ceremony

We’ve given to this week called, “Holy,”

but at the very least it gives us an outlet

for processing

suspense

doubt

death

fear

anger

complexity

and, hopefully, agree with you at the end of it all

That life is the most important thing,

worth laughing at and worth crying over.

Worth fighting for.

There’s no navigating life without being scarred,

but there’s grace for living with the scars.

There’s grace.

There’s grace.

My God, thank you for grace.

 

Written by Rachel G. Hackenburg

“Writing to GOD: 40 Days of Praying with My Pen”

Leave a Reply

